For Organisation / Project Migrations, Movebot provides the ability to migrate your existing permissions to your new platform. This can be handy for large enterprises where there would be significant administrative overhead required to recreate the permissions on the destination.
To keep things simple, we are not changing domains in this migration, users will have an account using the 'couchdrop.io' domain in both the source and destination. In this instance both platforms use the 'email@example.com' format for user permissions, and a 'groupname' format for group permissions. This makes our migration very straight forward as there is no in-flight manipulation required.
Enabling Permission Preservation
To enable permission preservation, navigate into your project settings, and select the Permissions tab.
After checking Enable File/Folder Permission Preservation, you should see the following options appear.
Note: You can safely ignore all other options on this page for the time being.
Identifying Existing Permissions
Once you have enabled permissions preservation, we recommend running a pre-migration scan.
This will allow you to view the permissions that we have discovered on files and folders within your source platform.
When the scan has completed, you can view the permissions we have discovered by clicking on the Details button when hovering over an entry in the scan results.
Note: You can download a CSV report of the permissions that we have identified from the Logs tab.
Kicking Off Your Migration
You are now ready to start your migration! There are two ways you can proceed:
Option 1: Migrate all data and apply permissions (Full Migration).
By selecting the Full Migration option you can all of the data and apply permissions in a single action. Once the data has been migrated, users will instantly be granted access to data in the destination provider.
Option 2: Migrate only the data, apply permissions later (Data Only + Delta and Permissions).
You can migrate only the data to start with by using the Data Only migration. Once you have done your initial data migration, you can run a Delta and Permissions migration to bring over any data that has been updated in the source and apply permissions as a final step before cutover.